Public Speaking

“There are two types of speakers. Those who get nervous and those who are liars.”

― Mark Twain

I guess that makes me a liar. If I have to speak or read to a crowd, and my nerves even consider making an appearance, I remind myself of all the things in my life that cause me real stress: responsibilities, bills, my work schedule, health issues, worries for my children… everything, and I realize that fear of public speaking is insignificant by comparison. I think about the would be listeners or audience, and how they are just people who have their own burdens. They are hoping to get something out of what ever I have to say, not witness humiliation. 

A couple of days ago I mentioned an experience when my daughter was learning to drive. She would focus on what ever she was afraid of hitting, (pedestrians), screaming “I’m going to hit them!” and the car would follow her line of vision— luckily there were no casualties. There is a lesson in that story that goes beyond driving: Look where you want to go. You can talk yourself into anything. Why not talk yourself into something positive and focus on that. 

According to the wall street journal, the fear of public speaking out ranks the fear of death. Come on people, we are bigger than a few words. We have power over those words…death not so much. I’m not saying that I don’t have irrational fears. I’m as crazy as the next guy, but honestly, I don’t have the energy or time to work myself into a panic over a few words. 

Also, it helps to know and understand what you’re saying… so practice. 
____________________________

The Daily Post February 4, 2016, Daily Prompt: Naked With Black Socks~ Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom? Why?<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/naked-with-black-socks/”>Naked with Black Socks</a>

6 thoughts on “Public Speaking

  1. Haha. It’s that knowing and understanding what you’re saying bit that gets me every time. Back in college biology, I shortened a 10 minute well-rehearsed speech into 1 torturous minute that was accompanied by flushing and almost tears. Such is the nature of my stage fright. It’s gotten better with time. I envy you your ability to put it into perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

