A Culinary Delight

A good piece of chocolate cake is enough to make me happy on a bad day. Chocolate cake has been the topic of many a conversation among my friends, because if you have indulged in a piece of cake that’s so good that you don’t mind the tight skirt you’re left with, you want to bring everyone else down with you.

Today one of my friends asked me if I’d ever tried the chocolate cake at a particular local chain of restaurants. Apparently it has been said that “this to-die-for” chocolate cake contains a secret ingredient that makes it the most moist cake ever conceived. Mayonnaise is said secret ingredient. That is a secret they had better hope doesn’t get out. While I understand that mayonnaise is only oil and egg, which are staple ingredients in almost every cake recipe known to man, the idea of mayonnaise in cake rises my gorge. People can be funny about mayonnaise, and I have more than one friend who is repulsed by it.

This brought up the subject of food horror stories…what other foods have triggered our gag reflex. What has repulsed me is something that is commonly eaten for breakfast and brunch in the UK. As an American I had no idea what black pudding was until I came very close to sinking my teeth into it this past fall while at a hotel breakfast buffet in Manchester. It ended up on my plate due to the fact that I wanted it to be chocolate cake, and I’m an idiot. Black pudding, black forrest cake—close enough…not really. 

Those of you who are familiar with black pudding, please feel free to skip over this paragraph. Black pudding, also known as blood sausage, is a pudding made of pigs blood, chunks of pork fat, oatmeal and spices, and it’s then stuffed into a sausage casing. Who is thinking yum? 

I am a pescatarian, meaning that the only meat I will eat is fish.  When someone commented that I was “brave to try the blood sausage” I nearly lost my crumpets. I am not here to judge. If you enjoy vile black pudding, that’s not my business. I refuse to taste it, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t, although the friend who told me I was brave also said she’d tried it and it was like eating a scab…yes, the incrustation that forms over a sore or wound. How she knows what a scab tastes like I don’t want to know. 
Mayonnaise isn’t sounding so bad now is it?
_________________________________

The Daily Post, February 18, 2016, Daily Prompt: Mad Lib~ Turn to your co-workers, kids, Facebook friends, family — anyone who’s accessible — and ask them to suggest an article, an adjective, and a noun. There’s your post title! Now write.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/mad-libs/”>Mad Libs</a>

5 thoughts on “ A Culinary Delight

Leave a Reply

