Lucky Me

Long ago on a very bad day
Forced concessions had lowered my pay
As a result I was filled with dismay
When an acquaintance–a rich self important cliche
Had the nerve to approach me and say
That I was lucky to be employed either way
I was struck dumb pre-verbal swordplay
Disarmed with no words to convey
I turned and I just walked away
If I had the same opportunity today
I might suggest that perhaps someday
Rather than toss unsolicited comments into the foray
He might invest his riches in a better toupee

_______________________________

The Daily Post, February 22, 2016, Daily Prompt: Drawing a Blank~ When was the last time your walked away from a discussion, only to think of The Perfect Comeback hours later? Recreate the scene for us, and use your winning line.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/drawing-a-blank/”>Drawing a Blank</a>

3 thoughts on “Lucky Me

Leave a Reply

