To Chase, A Thief

“You sit around here and you spin your little webs and you think the whole world revolves around you and your money. Well, it doesn’t, Mr. Potter. In the whole vast configuration of things, I’d say you were nothing but a scurvy little spider!”  

~ George Bailey, It’s a Wonderful Life

I have a longing, a persistent desire for something unattainable. I long to live in a world where blatant unethical practices by banks, large corporations, and the extremely wealthy are not an accepted occurrence.

I received a letter this week, attached to my bank statement from Chase Bank, notifying me that as of March 14, 2016: “If you deposit an amount that is higher or lower than what is on the deposit receipt, we are not required to adjust your account for discrepancies of $10. or less.” 

Wait…WHAT? They’ll keep the errors? How can they do that? Well, by notifying its customers of this change in “policy”, they have given due warning as to this new term of “agreement”, so since they warned you, it’s legal. Unfortunately legal isn’t the same as ethical. Banks are unethical. They will take your money any way they can, so check and re-check your math, your receipts, and your monthly statements, because they keep the mistakes. This sounds like systematic embezzlement to me. 

Chase says this works both ways. They “may or may not” correct mistakes under $10. that work in your favor either. This is of course all at their discretion, it’s what ever they decide to do. That’s fine Chase, here is my money, do what you will.  

If I didn’t have to work so hard for my money, I might have the time to test this new agreement. I’d make several deposits of $10. to my account, but enter them as $19.99. I could make a fair chunk of change that way if they didn’t correct the errors. I suspect Chase would correct those mistakes every time, but the reverse, not so much. Imagine how much those bank executives will pocket with this new policy. 

________________________________
The Daily Post, March 3, 2016, Daily Prompt: Longing~ Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/longing/”>Longing</a&gt;

4 thoughts on “To Chase, A Thief

Leave a Reply

