I Will Have Dessert

If I think about anything too long, I can find a way to become enraged over it. Anger is a toxic emotion, and there is nothing positive that can come of it. That said, today’s writing prompt…or should I say today’s provoking prompt, the word: incomplete, and I don’t like it.

The first thing that comes to mind is the Tom Cruise line in the film Jerry Maguire: “You complete me.” Rene Zellweger responds with: “You had me at hello.” That’s some romantic comedy writing.

https://media.giphy.com/media/6nCOC4R1ssBXy/giphy.gif

Having teenagers, one of my goals has been to instill in them the idea that they do not need another person to complete them. The line in that film is wrong. In the classic children’s book by Shel Silverstein: “The Missing Piece Meets the Big O” I am justified. The theme of the book is that we are all complete. We don’t need someone else to complete us…however, if we meet someone who we like we can be two complete individuals together. Hallelujah. Thank you Shel.

So back to today’s prompt: incomplete. As I said at the beginning of this diatribe, anything can set me off if I overthink it, as does the word incomplete— whether it’s the film Jerry Maguire, or the word is penned by a teacher in red ink on a paper I worked hard on, or reminding me of the large hole left behind in my kitchen ceiling by a workman after trying to find a leak in a pipe behind the wall.  

Incomplete implies that you are lacking, have left something unfinished without reaching your goal. You said ‘I’m full’ before dessert was served. It’s a disappointing word and it is synonymous with quitting. I am not a quitter, I am a complete person, and I will have dessert.
Next word please.

______________________________

March 3, 2016, Daily Prompt: Incomplete~<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/incomplete/”>Incomplete</a&gt;

2 thoughts on “I Will Have Dessert

  1. Oh, yes to this post, Lydia! This is exactly what I instilled in my daughter–you are fine as you are. You do not need a man to ‘complete’ you and don’t ever let anyone tell you differently. Luckily, those words stuck with her. Yeah, bring on dessert!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

