Edge

Yes, I’m one of those people; I don’t really watch TV. If you detected some snark in the tone of that sentence, it’s because when I wrote the sentence there was a condescending edge to my thoughts. Television puts me on edge. How can I think with all that noise? There was a time in my life when the television was often on, for background noise. That was at a time in my life when I had not yet reached my cumulative lifetime maximum noise tolerance level. These days I like peace, and I can’t think with South Park on.  

What’s my point? As I often do when I’m not sure what direction to take a writing prompt, I turn to my know it all friend Google for ideas. It turns out “Edge” was a WWF wrestler on television. I think I remember him, although I don’t know how that’s possible considering that I’ve never been a fan of wrestling. I do remember my baby brother watching WrestleMania on Friday nights when he was little, and insisting that it was real. Yes, as was the tooth fairy. That was more than a couple of decades ago. Is WrestleMania still on? 

As my midlife crisis comes to a close, I would consider it complete if I were to become a professional wrestler. That might be exactly what I need to quash this lingering discontent that I feel. What will my persona be? Possibly in homage to all my favourite literary characters, and because that would ensure my popularity WWF crowd, I might wrestle in a regency era dress, with a bonnet and little white wrist length kidskin gloves. My name would have to be Mrs Dashwood, because I’d carry a 2×4 plank of wood with which I would dash my opponents in their ever rippling midsections. Or maybe I could just be myself bitter and tired and wielding sarcasm. I’ll look into that right now.

That’s enough nonsense for today. Enjoy your Holiday, for those of you who celebrate Easter. 

_______________________________

March 27, 2016, Daily Prompt: Edge~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/edge/”>Edge</a&gt;

3 thoughts on “Edge

  1. Can definitely relate to this. I didn’t watch TV either when my kids were teenagers. 1) wasn’t worth using up slim edge of authority to demand the remote, 2) give me PEACE! But don’t bother becoming a wrestler. Would only divert you from discovering you do actually have an identity. Not long now, I promise!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

