A Relatively Bad Morning

Lately, it seems that no matter how early I get up in the morning, I end up spending my drive to work worrying about the time. An example would be a week ago Tuesday. I thought I had given myself more than enough time, but I found myself trapped in a traffic jam with no way to escape. Because that wasn’t stressful enough, my gas tank was on E and blinking red. The gas station I had planned to stop at was closed because of wind damage to the roof. How inconsiderate of them. 

Then I remembered my lunch. I had failed to throw it in my bag, and it was sitting on the kitchen counter rotting.

I tapped my fingers on the steering wheel, trying not to worry about something that was now beyond my control. To distract myself, I thought about the stops I’d have to make on my way home from work, the load of laundry I didn’t get to, the phone call I would need to make at some point in the day, my broken gate, my credit card bill, my daughters plans for the fall. . . my thoughts were all over the place, and my support hose were twisted and cutting off my circulation.

I decided it was more pleasant to worry about running out of gas, so I emptied my mind and watched the red blinking light. I had to pass up my turn into work to look for a gas station, because I didn’t want to worry about my gas tank all day. 

I’d come to the realisation during the anti-pep talk I had been giving myself that morning that the day my to-do list is complete will probably be the day I take my last breath. I must find a way embrace this exquisite disaster that my life has become. 

I filled my gas tank and exhaled in relief. I made it to work two minutes late, and took the first opportunity to complain to a co-worker about my morning stress. She filled me in on the cause for the traffic. There had been a construction accident just beyond the gas station I stopped at, which resulted in the street closure. A 45 ton bridge support beam had fallen and killed three construction workers. My morning was suddenly not looking so bad.

_____________________________

April 16, 2016, Daily One Word Prompt: Disaster~<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/disaster/”>Disaster</a&gt;

4 thoughts on “A Relatively Bad Morning

  1. “More pleasant to think of running out of gas”…so you dumped your mind of other stuff.
    Funny, and so mind grabbing for me. And you did yank me back to perspective at the end. We really can get all tied up in minor stuff, can’t we?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

