My Google IQ

If Google were a university, I’d be finishing up my doctorate in general studies this spring. If it were possible, I would google every single thought and idea I have, but unfortunately my Google time is slightly restricted by work and family obligations. As it is, I google nearly every thought, and I feel an urgent need to google these thoughts immediately, before I forget them. Every googleable thought is important and, just like writing ideas, Google questions can be fleeting. I don’t just consider one Google source either, I need to cross reference three to five before I’ve decided on the probable answer. 

I have a couple of people fooled. They think I know things. They turn to me with questions on such subjects as language translation, world history, literature, science, medical and mental health, health insurance, tax deductuons, daily weather reports around the world, metric conversion, postmodernist architecture, and even math. The last subject is the most side-splitting because it’s the subject I am least qualified to comment on. My formal math education ended when I was a Freshman in High School. 

They must know that they have the same access to information…the information super highway that I have, because I list my sources. I credit my references. I actually say “I found this answer on Google,” or “I don’t know, but I’ll google it.” Still, these friends text me perfectly googleable questions. Why am I the middle man? The shortest distance between two points is a straight line isn’t it? Along the same line, a question to Google is faster than question to Lydia who googles and has to get back to you. 

Maybe I should be flattered at their confidence. I’m not annoyed by the questions, I’m confused. They have smartphones. Why ask me? I’m not saying I know nothing, but am I smarter than a fifth grader?—Hang on, let me google that.
_____________________________

April 19, 2016, Daily One Word Prompt: Fake~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/fake/”>Fake</a&gt;

7 thoughts on “My Google IQ

  1. That was soooooooooooooo funny!!!!!! I too am a Google queen. I like to Google when I think about it because my thoughts are fleeting. Thanks for making me laugh out loud!!! I thank God for technology. It has made my life so much easier.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

