Why I Am Shouting

“Why are you shouting?” 

I close my eyes, breathe in and out, and count silently to ten. It’s not enough. I do it again, and then once more. I have lost my mind. 

What started with a whispered suggestion of “slow down,” escalated to the point that I was shouting, and shaking. 

Feigning calm, I respond: “I am shouting because you were accelerating at a point when the cars in front of us were stopped. When I asked you quietly to slow down, and then suggested it a bit louder, you didn’t respond. I felt that shouting was the only option left available to me.” 

That went better than last time. My son, the last person I will ever teach to drive, will add that ten minute thrill ride to his driving log, which must add up to a total of 50 hours of driving practice. I don’t know what they pay drivers ed teachers. They deserve combat pay. 

_____________________________
April 25, 2016, One Word Daily Prompt: Whisper~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/whisper/”>Whisper</a&gt;

3 thoughts on “Why I Am Shouting

Leave a Reply

