Dear Towhead

Dear Towhead, my child 

When you were young

Lathered with sunscreen

On the beach in the sun

I worried incessantly

For your transparent skin

Dressed you in sun hats

Since I couldn’t keep you in

On my watch no sunburn

Had your skin ever seen

My first of three children

Now at nineteen

A sprite off to college

In California’s harsh rays 

You’ll learn surfing for credit

That will come in handy someday (ahem)

Well my job here is over 

Now it’s all up to you

To protect your fair skin

Because pale is beautiful too

_________________________________

May 5, 2016, Daily One Word Prompt: Beach~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/beach/”>Beach</a&gt;

2 thoughts on “Dear Towhead

Leave a Reply

