What Do You Have Planned For Today?

“The most aggravating thing about the younger generation is that I no longer belong to it.” ~Albert Einstein

May is, the most over scheduled month of my year. This May is the most over scheduled month of my life. One day at a time, this too shall pass, blah, blah, blah. What is the worst thing that could happen, aside from a death, illness, serious injury? It happened…

I’d been on a mission—scheduling appointments in an attempt to get everything done before August when two thirds of my spawn leave for college. I’ve scheduled all three oospore’s appointments in the next few weeks: dentist, dermatologist, eye doctors, annual physicals, orthodontists, one scheduled foot surgery, I have appointments for patch testing with an allergist and a mammogram for myself. 


Which reminds me that I have one child graduating from high school in a couple of weeks…and she has two award ceremonies, prom, a final orchestra concert, and a final choir concert this month. We have three dorms to visit in another state, oh, and I work…two schedules, because I’m funding this all by myself. I am still trying to fill in my work schedule around all these events; I must get my work hours in. 

Then, I lost my date book—

I woke up in the middle of the night, in a bit of a panic, because I hadn’t reviewed the day ahead. After an extensive search through the black hole that is my purse, and my work bag, I realized it was gone. As I plod through the five phases of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance, I’m stuck on anger.

So now what? I see the bills already—$50. missed appointment charges two, three, four a day, everyday through June. Not only will I be paying fees, but I’ll also have to re-schedule these appointments, and arrange my work schedule around them again. 

It occurred to me this morning when my soon to high school graduate caught me in the act of ransacking my bedroom—this problem I’m having, is a problem that is to her, akin to not having the loose change to make an urgent phone call from a pay phone. None of the generations after mine will never understand this problem. 

My daughter asked me “Don’t you have all that information on your phone? Don’t you use the calendar, or the reminders on your phone? Why would you need a ‘date book?'” After I released her throat, (not really), I said to this child o’ mine: “I use a date book because I don’t have to worry about plugging it in when I’m out riding my dinosaur. I want to look at the whole month. I do my life one month at a time. I can’t wrap my head around the calendar my phone…and now I have nothing!” 

Damatic, I know.

I’ve called every medical professional in the United States trying to reconstruct and fill in the gaps of my schedule. And now I sit, missing all kinds of appointments…and trying to understand the calendar application on my phone. 
___________________________

May 11, 2016, One Word Daily Prompt: Generation~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/generation/”>Generation</a&gt;

6 thoughts on “What Do You Have Planned For Today?

  1. Oh, dear. I write it all down….and sometimes use my calendar phone. But what happens when my battery is low and I leave my phone at home to charge……dilemma, dilemma, dilemma…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Good luck to you lady. I switched over to the calendar on my phone about 10 yrs ago. It was quite the adjustment but a definite improvement in my life. One of the best things is I can set reminders for things way in advance so I know they’re coming up and can make sure I’m ready for them. I even put things like “oil change due soon” in there. And no more “let me check my calendar and get back to you” situations, that helps a lot too.
    Just my 2 cents … Marianne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

