What Did You Bring for Lunch?

To say a child has “healthy appetite” is the same as saying: someone should take away that box of twinkies. “Healthy” is an abstract concept. For that reason, I stopped trying to understand what is considered healthy years ago. People who devote their lives to telling other people how to eat a healthy diet can’t agree. One week a scientific study labels a particular food healthy, the next week another scientist conducts a study disproving the findings of the last. 

I eat what I want to eat…what makes me feel good. I can be somewhat ritualistic about food, drinking the same smoothie every morning, eating the same salad at lunch, but as an adult, when I want to eat something I eat it. I have on occasion washed down a big slice of tiramisu with my morning coffee with minimal guilt. 

I have a list of what I will not eat. I don’t eat poultry, red meats, or pigs (the other white meat), because I love animals. I try avoid carbs unless they’re in the form of cake, because I love cake. I don’t eat anything fried, including fried snickers bars, because I love it when I’m not doubled over in intestinal distress. Dairy is avoided unless it’s on pizza because some things are worth the intestinal distress. My diet is very scientific, is it not? I’m not telling anyone how to eat, and I’m not selling anything. (But if you want to pay for my opinion…)

People love to push their food. They bring it to work, and want to share, which is a kind gesture, but when I say “that’s very nice, it looks and smells great, but I can’t meat, because of a traumatic childhood experience,” they become offended. Why? It’s not personal.

Which brings dieters to mind. People on diets are like cult members—exactly like cult members, and they’re recruiting. You would think these dieters were part of a pyramid scheme with the desperation they exude as they try to lure you in. Is something else at stake or at steak, other than the fact that misery loves company? I exercise regularly—again, I do what makes me feel good, and once I’m done exercising for the day I feel good. Unless I amputate something, I don’t have any weight to lose, so why do people constantly try to convince me to try a new diet with them? 

Recently a co-worker became a “ketone” dieter. I stopped dieting in my teens—a very long time ago, and although I have a normal curiosity about what the experts are telling people to eat (this time), I want the 411 in fifty words or less. I listened throughout an entire workday, and I now know more about ketones than I ever cared to, but I’m happy she’s excited, and I hope she doesn’t screw up her metabolism or any vital organs in this attempt to shed some inches.

That which is healthy today is not what will be healthy tomorrow. What was healthy twenty five years ago would make young women of today gasp in horror. An innocent banana nut muffin was once on the list of healthy foods, but now it’s bad carbs. Eggs are on again off again both lists. Butter vs margarine vs coconut oil, but don’t over heat olive oil because the world will spin off its axis. Diets are subjective nonsense. I rest my case. 

**If you are curious about why I don’t eat meat, here is a link to that post: https://alotfromlydia.wordpress.com/2014/06/28/why-i-dont-eat-meat/ ______________________________

May 15, 2016, One Word Daily Post: Healthy~<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/healthy/”>Healthy</a&gt;

5 thoughts on “What Did You Bring for Lunch?

    1. I think about the money that people spend on these diets and books, and none of the weight loss sticks because that would require changing habits permanently. People don’t seem to get that. I agree with you, I eat what I want and work out a little harder if I need to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

