My Own Metamorphosis

“As Gregor Samsa awoke one morning from uneasy dreams he found himself transformed in his bed into a gigantic insect.” Franz Kafka ~ The Metamorphosis

I awoke this morning after a restless night of which disturbing images filled my head, images of lists and bills, people pulling at me as others shoved, bickering and complaining. I struggled to push my way through a thick muck filled swamp, toward a light…a light hearted feeling of contentment and joy…peace. I awoke a butterfly.

I spread my wings and suddenly I am airborn. Pure joy could not feel this good. My alarm sounds and I remember work. Momentary panic tries to throw a net over my ascent as I contemplate my support hose; they would surely impede on my new found liberty. 

Sounds fill the hall outside of my room. These sounds are the three human pupa I hatched. They barge into my room, but fail to notice me fluttering in the corner. I observe as they help themselves to my belongings- makeup and clothes…they leave my support hose, and shuffle out of the room with their spoils.

I know from field trips to the nature museum when my children were small that my lifespan as a butterfly will be short. The window beckons me, and without a second thought, I flit toward two weeks of heaven—if I can avoid birds. ________________________________
June 9, 2016, One Word Daily Prompt: Transformation~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/transformation/”>Transformation</a&gt;

One thought on “My Own Metamorphosis

Leave a Reply

