A Love Story in Quotes

“Courtship is to marriage, as a very witty prologue to a very dull play.” ~ William Congreve

“There are few people whom I really love, and still fewer of whom I think well. The more I see of the world, the more am I dissatisfied with it; and every day confirms my belief of the inconsistency of all human characters, and of the little dependence that can be placed on the appearance of merit or sense.” ~ Jane Austen

“She likes herself, yet others hates / For that which in herself she prizes; And, while she laughs at them, forgets / She is the thing that she despises.” ~ William Congreve

” Unjust I may have been, weak and resentful I have been, but never inconstant.” ~ Jane Austen

“But say what you will, ’tis better to be left than never to have been loved. To pass our youth in dull indifference, to refuse the sweets of life because they once must leave us, is as preposterous as to wish to have been born old, because we one day must be old.” ~ William Congreve

“You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone for ever. I offer myself to you again with a heart even more your own than when you almost broke it.” ~ Jane Austen

“Uncertainty and expectation are the joys of life. Security is an insipid thing.” ~ William Congreve

“Laugh as much as you choose, but you will not laugh me out of my opinion.” ~ Jane Austen

“Women are like tricks by sleight of hand, Which, to admire, we should not understand.” ~ William Congreve

“I hate to hear you talk about all women as if they were fine ladies instead of rational creatures. None of us want to be in calm waters all our lives.” ~ Jane Austen

“Musick has Charms to sooth a savage Breast, To soften Rocks, or bend a knotted Oak.” ~ William Congreve

“To be fond of dancing was a certain step towards falling in love.” ~ Jane Austen

“Defer not till tomorrow to be wise. Tomorrow’s sun to thee may never rise.” ~ William Congreve

“I may have lost my heart, but not my self-control.” ~ Jane Austen

“If there’s delight in love, ‘Tis when I see that heart, which others bleed for, bleed for me.” ~ William Congreve

“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.” ~ Jane Austen

“All well bred persons lie – Besides, you are a woman; you must never speak what you think…” ~ William Congreve

“A woman, especially if she have the misfortune of knowing anything, should conceal it as well as she can.” ~ Jane Austen

“Heav’n hath no Rage, like Love to Hatred turn’d, Nor Hell a Fury, like a Woman scorn’d.” ~ William Congreve

“Angry people are not always wise.” ~ Jane Austen

“I warrant you, if he danced till doomsday, he thought I was to pay the piper.” ~ William Congreve

“Without music, life would be blank to me.” ~ Jane Austen

“He who closes his ears to the views of others shows little confidence in the integrity of his own views.” ~ William Congreve

“I do not want people to be very agreeable, as it saves me the trouble of liking them a great deal.” ~ Jane Austen

” A little scorn is alluring.” ~William Congreve

“Nothing ever fatigues me, but doing what I do not like.” ~ Jane Austen

“True, ’tis an unhappy circumstance of life that love should ever die before us, and that the man so often should outlive the lover. But say what you will, ’tis better to be left than never to have been loved. To pass our youth in dull indifference, to refuse the sweets of life because they once must leave us, is as preposterous as to wish to have been born old, because we one day must be old. For my part, my youth may wear and waste, but it shall never rust in my possession.” ~ William Congreve

“You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope…I have loved none but you.” ~ Jane Austen

“In hours of bliss we oft have met: They could not always last; And though the present I regret, I’m grateful for the past.” ~ William Congreve

“Adieu to disappointment and spleen. What are men to rocks and mountains?” ~ Jane Austen 
~~~~~~~~~~~~

* Jane Austen, 1775- 1817– Novelist

* William Cosgreve, 1670-1729– Playwright, Poet, _______________________________

June 10, 2016, One Word Daily Prompt: Mountain~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/mountain/”>Mountain</a&gt;

One thought on “A Love Story in Quotes

Leave a Reply

