Miserable in the Midwest 

Why put off until tomorrow, that which you can lament today? Equal parts consummate prophet of doom and overachiever, I anticipate the end of summer from the first sighting of a spring bud piercing the earth. I close my eyes and see a mountain of leaves purged from the two hundred year old oak whose arthritic claws loom menacingly over my old house. I close them again, and I am in a full blown panic at the thought of winters first heavy snowfall requiring me to grab a shovel and dig my way out. 

I suppose I missed my calling. I could have parlayed this mental disorder into a living in the business of retail, because I see myself in their distasteful practice of displaying back to school supplies mid June, and Christmas items mid August. I would like to live in the moment, “be happy for this moment, this moment is your life,” and all that, but there is so much that could possibly go wrong in the future. Today may be the first day of summer, but visions of sugarplums and blizzards tap dance on my head. 

I need to relocate to a place where: spring is more than an idea, more than three pleasant days a summer make, before heat and humidity grab you by the throat, one ice storm in early October does not signal the end of autumn, and winters are not Hell frozen over…soon. Let’s not discuss the weather again until I do.

______________________________
June 20, 2016, One Word Daily Prompt: Summer~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/summer/”>Summer</a&gt;

8 thoughts on “Miserable in the Midwest 

  1. I consider myself a fairly optomistic person but I confess to sharing this misery with you. I was “let down” today when someone pointed out that yesterday was the longest day of the year. Oh, no, we are on our way to the shortest. I don’t like it and I don’t like the fiddling with the clock to try to make it more bearable. But I’ll keep it all to myself, and you of course.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. An addition to above moaning. I just looked out. My yard is beautiful. Lots of rain has made grass and trees green; flowers blooming, lovely cooling shadows on the east side of everything. I guess what is ugly was coming from me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

