Pushing Back

“In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back.”

~ Albert Camus

I love this quote, and I’ve used it before. I am in the midst of a winter of sorts. The metaphoric snow keeps falling, and I keep shoveling, but when I turn around to check my progress the path I shoveled has disappeared under new snow. 

When my children were children, I looked forward to the day when the youngest would be toilet trained, because that would mean the end of diaper purchasing. I was under the misapprehension that if not for the vast amounts of money being pissed away on diapers, my finances would be settled…maybe I could even work fewer hours. Then I would be happy. Well, it turns out that diapers weren’t the problem. 

The problem is how I allow money, or the perpetual shortage of it to affect me. It’s easy to become overwhelmed with obligations: demands on time, endless bills, borrowing from Peter to pay Paul…two children soon off to college. The diaper days may be behind me, but the crap never stops coming. Despite the deficit of funds, somehow I manage to pay my bills. As with everything else, life has a way of working out. I need to focus on my invincible summer, and keep pushing back.
______________________________

July 14, 2016, One Word Daily Prompt: Storm~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/storm/”>Storm</a&gt;

2 thoughts on “Pushing Back

Leave a Reply

