Why Do You Blog?

Friends and co-workers will on occasion ask me about this: How often do you post?  How do you find the time? Most often the question is: Why do you blog?

I would love to say this is how I pay my mortgage, but that would be a lie. I make the time to write every day, because I love to write. I enjoy the challenge of articulating a thought or feeling or experience, and sharing it with other people. My goal is always humor, but to plant a seed of compassion would be a bonus. 

My reward is hearing from people all over the world: Australia, Mexico, Canada, New Zealand, France, India, United Kingdom, Singapore, etc. This is a big world filled with people of many different beliefs and cultures, but we are intrinsically the same. 

Who knew teenagers are a challenge everywhere, or that single moms exist in every country? We all have similar human struggles, wishes and needs. I consider the people who I communicate with through blogging a support system of friends I haven’t met. Blogging is a creative outlet, and a distraction from my day to day struggles. It is a connection to the world outside my little life. I wonder why more people don’t do it.

_____________________________
August 2, 2016, Discovery Challenge: Connection~<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/discover-challenges/connection/”>Connection</a&gt;

5 thoughts on “Why Do You Blog?

  1. Love this! Blogging is a creative outlet for me as well, and I actually feel more creative since I started blogging again. And the community here on WordPress is so welcoming and friendly, it’s great.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, Lydia. Opening up my email each day is like opening a little present. I never know what someone is going to give me: a good laugh, a great story, something to make me think. I don’t know why more people don’t do it either. I love it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

