Superbagel

Today is travel day. My first born and I are en-route to California via compressed metal tube, in anticipation of tomorrow— dorm move in day. We got an early start, relatively speaking. This date has been planned since April, yet even with daily reminders my child was up all night doing laundry. Packing commenced during the minutes prior to our planned departure time for the airport. Surprisingly, we were in the car only twenty minutes later than I had thought to leave- not bad for us. 


After checking four body bags containing everything my daughter has ever owned, we proceeded to security to have our cavities searched. Once that was accomplished we were off to seek sustenance, since time to eat was not set aside in our four months of planning. We chose to patronize “The Great American Bagel” which was near our departure gate.

I was made aware by the bagelista that there are bagels, and there are super bagels. The one I ordered fell into the category of super bagel…and I thought I had only asked for a blueberry bagel with cream cheese. I was advised that because it was a super bagel the cream cheese would be extra. Interesting. Personally, I don’t care what you call it, the ordering process had already taken more thought than my brain had to spare. Why has ordering food and beverages gotten so complicated? 

I don’t want to talk about the bagel anymore, but my daughter wants to know what a super bagel is. My guess was that it has some kind of special power. Perhaps the cream cheese is to a super bagel what kryptonite is to Superman, a detractor from its power. That must be why the bagel people discourage its use. We step aside while said carb is toasted. The toasting process seems to take longer for the super bagel than for the mild mannered bagel my spawn ordered. Is my Superbagel changing into it’s cape? 


The bagel is finally ready and handed over. Upon examination we find it is not shaped exactly like a bagel. There is no hole, and I’m not sure how I feel about that. I decide to try it anyway, because it is a pricey bit of dough by all standards. One bite and I imagine my teeth decaying as I chew…so much sugar. A warning label advising possible adverse side effects, such as diabetic coma upon consumption would be appropriate. I eat it, and I am disgusted with myself. I may need to seek counseling because of the guilt I feel for putting that in my body. It’s a bird…it’s a plane…it’s Superbagel, and it’s time to board.

_____________________________
August 4, 2016, One Word Daily Prompt: Craving~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/craving/”>Craving</a&gt;

5 thoughts on “Superbagel

Leave a Reply

