Where Did I Go Wrong?

“If you want to really hurt you parents, and you don’t have the nerve to be gay, the least you can do is go into the arts. I’m not kidding. The arts are not a way to make a living. They are a very human way of making life more bearable. Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven’s sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something.”   ~Kurt Vonnegut 

Of my two children starting college this month, two will be studying the arts. Yes, I know that’s two out of two. According to the above quote, they will likely not make a living in their chosen professions. Where did I go wrong?

I believe the art lessons started when the girls were ages three and four. Prior to that we had been drawing and painting at home. Our big art cabinet contained clay, paint, sketch pads, construction paper, buttons, glitter, shrinky dinks, charcoal, oil pastels, ribbons…believe me when I say there was more, but I’ll spare you any more details on this subject. 

Music lessons started at the park district when they were five and six with the guitar. They continued those lessons for several years until elementary school band and orchestra introduced new instruments: recorder, violin, viola, alto sax, cello. Some instruments outlasted others, but guitar, violin and saxophone were the clear winners.

We attended every children’s play, concert, opera, and ballet that we possibly could— everything from Pinocchio, to The Marriage of Figaro. One year after Halloween I scored on a clearance sale of costumes priced so low that I had no choice but to buy a trunk full of magic…wands, bridal gowns, witch hats, and Powerpuff Girls costumes—just to name a few. 


Dance lessons were attempted at one point, and I fought a good fight, but their hearts were not in it so I surrendered. Then came school theater and choir. The art of photography and video were discovered independent of me. 
My middle child and my son, the baby of the family, are award winning young authors who were state representatives more than once. 
While I can’t imagine a world without music, art, literature, or theater, and I praise my children’s talents, I was hoping to raise a research scientist, or a chemical engineer. Where did I go wrong?
_____________________________
August 5, 20-6, One Word Prompt: Praise~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/praise/”>Praise</a&gt;, <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/stubborn/”>Stubborn</a&gt;

6 thoughts on “Where Did I Go Wrong?

  1. Their lives have been enriched through the arts and you giving them the opportunity to experience them. You didn’t go wrong 😍😒

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh – you may still have a research scientist 😉 My oldest son has a degree in Music Performance / Production. He went to a big school in a big city. Neither he nor the friends he made remain in the industry at this time. They need to follow their passion and grow their own way, you’ve done a great job.
    blessings,
    Laurie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I ended up with an artist, an actor, a model and journalist. The artist has had various other jobs as well, the actor has become a (successful) script writer, the model made a good living until age and 3 kids intervened (she now works in admin) and the journalist worked as a journalist for 12 years, got a masters in law along the way and now works as a lawyer. Even those who’ve changed professions don’t regret their initial choice for a minute. Your kids will blossom doing what they love doing. How can that possibly be wrong? Good on you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

