Hamster Mama Baby Killer 

I was about 12 years old when I had my pet hamster. I liked the hamster, but I can’t recall its name. I suppose that is evidence that I wasn’t particularly attached to it. It was cute and soft, but it smelled like urine and I didn’t like cleaning the cage. It was by no means the soul mate I had in my cat Slim a few years later. When the nameless hamster died I was secretly relieved. 

My best friend came over to console me that day. Thinking I had a heart, she thoughtfully gifted me with a new hamster. This hamster was much bigger, and feral looking. I said thank you, as I would have for any gift, and I cursed inwardly. 

A few days into my new life with this bestial rodent, I looked in the cage and screamed bloody murder, my heart pounding in my throat. There were tiny pink shrimp looking blobs squirming around the bottom. My mother came in to see what my problem was this time, and she explained that they were babies. Wow, not cute at all. 

I called my beast bestowing best friend and begged her to return the disgusting thing and it’s babies to whatever netherworld pet store she found it at. When she came over later that day to retrieve it…the babies were gone. As God is my wittness, mom must have thought they looked like shrimp too because she had eaten her babies. My friend took the baby killer hamster mama back to the pet inferno she where found it. 

The moral of the story is that sometimes it’s best to close the book on hamster chapters in your life and carry on…hamsterless. Oh, and animals should never be given as gifts.

____________________________

August 16, 2016, One Word Daily Prompt: Carry ~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/carry/”>Carry</a&gt;

3 thoughts on “Hamster Mama Baby Killer 

  1. We had a cannibal hamster when I was a kid. After she gave birth I rescued one of the babies and was raising it in an empty fish bowl in my room. But my cat snagged it while I was at a football game and used it as a chew toy. I wasn’t meant to have a hamster.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m terrible, because I think your cat may have done you a favor. My kids hamster experiences were not traumatic. My son had Oreo, who had a great personality and set the bar pretty high for those to come. We never quit while we’re ahead. None lived up Oreo, and I always ended up the caregiver. Thankfully their lifespan is only three years, because that’s about all I could stand. They can really stink up a room.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

