I will become a Swedish Fish

“You become what you think about all day long.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Hot humid air, blaring horns, screaming sirens, relentless crowds, feted blasts of sewer stench rising from the bowels of Hell — and is it always trash day in New York? 
It has been thick, muggy, and I have had a perpetual circle of perspiration between my breasts all week. Classy, I know. In fact, the strap of my over the shoulder bag bled a black dye stripe across two of my shirts. The second shirt might have been spared had I put any thought into what caused the first stripe.

I only allow myself thoughts of Swedish Fish. 

I usually love New York, but tonight I feel like someone sucker punched me in the gut because I finally said goodbye to the second child I’ve lost to institutions of higher learning in a single month. New York is keeping my second child.

In order to refrain from falling to my knees while holding on to her as I sob: “don’t make leave you!” I remind myself that I have dignity, and a bag of Swedish Fish in my hotel room. 
Since returning to my room, I have polished off said bag of fish, and I now feel very sick. My dentist will be getting a call on Monday. I expected a difficult transition, and this is bad. I still have a child at home, and what will happen to him if…

I become a Swedish Fish?  

_____________________

August 20, 2016, One Word Daily Prompt: Youth~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/youth/”>Youth</a&gt;

2 thoughts on “I will become a Swedish Fish

Leave a Reply

