Emmadoodle

 “The biggest mistake people make in life is not trying to make a living at doing what they most enjoy.” ~ Malcolm Forbes

But who will pay me to eat cake?

A treat of which I would partake

Everyday for every meal

The joy of it I couldn’t conceal

Since there is no such employment

I eat cake purely for enjoyment

And— Happy Birthday! I must say

To Thing Two born on this day

Nineteen years ago I swore

I would labor again– never more

Three years later a memory laps

Gave my doctor a third babe to slap

The celebrations of these births

Made every labor cramp well worth

The pain I suffered for their sakes 

All is forgiven with birthday cake. _____________________________
September 5, 2016, Daily Prompt: Cake~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/cake/”>Cake</a&gt;

2 thoughts on “Emmadoodle

Leave a Reply

