What are You Reading?

Between big books like War and Peace or maybe Moby Dick

I confess I have a taste for books even Oprah wouldn’t pick

If someone dares to ask what I’m reading on my kindle

Um…”Truth Before Everything” – Wonder why I’m single?

I’m stuck on Austen – an ailment no other book can cure 

But the books I read aren’t hers – they’re fan fiction- nothing more

Mr. Darcy and Lizzy – how many ways can they meet

On ship, book store, at work- the scenarios are complete

ly stupid, but I am addicted, as such I still read 

Pathetically I have a void…and these books fill that need

When one book is finished, I might pick up Proust or Joyce

But…I read those quite quickly then move onto my first choice

_____________________________

September 18, 2016, Daily Prompt: Passionate~ <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/passionate/”>Passionate</a&gt;

4 thoughts on “What are You Reading?

  1. Yes!!! I love Jane Austen! I also have a weakness for fan fiction about Jane Austen books. My personal fav is Persuasion. I wonder if they have fan fiction for that book… one of my favorite posts of day! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Yes! There is a retelling of Persuasion. “Captain Wentworth’s Persuasion: Jane Austen’s Classic Retold Through His Eyes”
      by Regina Jeffers – There are actually several. I wonder what she would think about all this. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

