And Now Something Non-Policital—Austen and Zombies 

Last night I did something I have been threatening to do for many months…I watched Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. From the moment I had seen the preview nearly a year ago, I had been anticipating it’s big screen release which I thought would be…last February. 

Consider the fact that I do have a lot on my plate when I say time got away from me. I had more to do than peruse the entertainment section of the newspaper looking for the film…but my google history will show that I did search it once or twice. 

Fast forward 9 months—enough time to grow a baby, but that’s not what I was doing. In fact I was working overtime and trying to figure out how to send two of my preexisting three babies to college without any money, (loans) then I had to work out the logistics of getting them there, after which I had a little bout of panic and depression at the realization that two of my little zombies are far so away.
  
So, it was Wednesday when I was at the library sending a fax, because that’s how you do it if your fax machine is pissed that you don’t have a land line anymore, when a beacon of light led me to the movie aisle. The light shined down on the DVD Pride + Prejudice + Zombies. 

Hallelujah

 I rarely watch movies because obviously I have a discerning palate where films are concerned, and also, my entertainment budget is very limited, so this actually worked out pretty nicely. Free is good.

I borrowed the movie, and brought it home, and I looked at the box, and I set it aside, and two days later I picked it up again to return it to the library when I thought “just watch the damn movie.” So I did. Of course my son was not home.

Honestly, the anticipation alone would have been enough for me. I found myself nervously giggling as I put the DVD in the player, as if I was afraid Jane Austen would find out what I was doing and in anger delete the Colin Firth screensaver on my phone. 

I am not a zombie apocalypse film aficionado, but I am a connoisseur of everything Austen. The only piece of the film that left me wanting was the omission of Georgianna…although she was mentioned. The film does somewhat follow the storyline of the book PPZ which somewhat follows Austen’s book. I must say the casting was without fault.

Granted, my sense of humor might be considered a bit warped, but I did laugh out loud once or twice, I smiled through a lot of it. I have no regrets that I will never get those 108 minutes of my life back, but I would most likely not watch it a second time…unless I decide I want to.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Directed By: Burr Steers, Written By: Burr Steers, Based on:  Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith and Jane Austen, Starring: Lily James, Sam Riley, Jack Huston, Bella Heathcoate, Douglas Booth, Matt Smith, Charles Dance, Lena Heady

2 thoughts on “And Now Something Non-Policital—Austen and Zombies 

  1. I read the book when it first came out and then saw the film in a theatre. I enjoyed the film more than I did the book, and that’s a rare thing. Maybe it’s because I am a zombie film aficionado, and only have a passing regard for Austen. I know, that’s blasphemy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

