With My Eyes Closed

I once dreamt of a far better world:

A place where spring is perpetual

I could feel the light breeze 

Send sounds of rain 

And the scent of worms in dirt 

Through the open windows of my mind

With my eyes closed I saw 

Endless fields of flowers 

Buds ever on the verge 

But not yet bloomed

The sun was always rising

Now I only wish:

No one had bad breath

Or chin hair 

No one needed glasses

Especially not me

Support hose— sexy as hell

Yes, I guess hell is sexy

Why else would that be a saying?

Fifty might be the new black 

If only I didn’t want to write political posts

About a fluorescent orange blowhard

It would be spring again

With my eyes closed

_________________________

The Emperor-elect – A lot from Lydia https://alotfromlydia.wordpress.com/2016/11/20/the-emperor-elect/

November 19, 2016

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/ostentatious/”>Ostentatious</a&gt;

4 thoughts on “With My Eyes Closed

  1. In The Midst of It All
    My job was back breaking although I worked it everyday
    I hated the job, but I worked there anyway. I drank
    heavily after work to dissolve the pain and hurt while absorbing the dust and dirt. At the end of the week, the money I earned was already spent. On bills, food and rent. On fuel in the car, in which I could not afford to drive far. As far as to work and back, where I sat intoxicated alone.
    Where I never received any calls on the phone. The kids are now grown, and homelessness is the only person that haven’t left me alone. In the midst of it all, I have dreams, I have plans, I have visions of one day becoming a better man. Because I have issues to deal with, and I need to take a stand.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

