What Makes a Republican?

https://apple.news/Axhsd_YBAShqEZ1cxz0d0DQ
CNN published an article which I read this morning written by correspondent Jodi Edna. It’s about five or so republicans who went from not liking Donald Trump to “liking what they see,” thinking “he’s a breath of fresh air,” and “you have to confront evil,” and “in the inner cities people want jobs.”

I want to have an open mind. I like to imagine myself in the position of those speaking to me, or those who write whatever I’m reading. I believe often the only thing that differentiates one person from the next is the sum of their life experiences. Experiences make the man, and all that.

 Just one example of something that would make a person think differently than others: horrible abuse during childhood might make a person become an abuser, or it might make them afraid of intimacy, or they might hate the type of person who abused them. That hate might be as specific as: hating all agressive men with red hair and a gold tooth who speak with a Kentucky accent, or more general: hating all women. In all cases, the abuse changes them somehow. 

My point is, not everyone thinks the way I do, but I do listen with an open mind, and I try not to pass judgement on a person for saying something offensive to me. Something makes them think that way. I don’t know if their parents raised them to be a white supremacist (for example), which would be a hard thing to overcome…my upbringing was difficult, and my parents weren’t perfect, and that is part of what makes me who I am today. 
This might be a method actors ideology, (I’m not an actor, but I studied it for years), but I imagine the entire life that brought this person speaking, or writing, to say what they’re saying.

So with this extremely open mind of mine, I read this CNN article…and I just don’t understand these people.

February 21, 2017

Leave a Reply

