Days of Murky Politics

**Fair warning: philosophical and political musings expressed here are tainted with liberalism. 

Today is June 17, 2017, and as has been the case since November 9, 2016, there is an over abundance of news available for me to slant into my (correct) position: 

  • Donald Trump is now officially under investigation yet he continues to tweet himself into a corner. 
  • Ivanka, beautiful leader of the faux feminism movement, is now too under investigation.
  • Trump continues to ignore the emoluments clause spending 1 of 3 days as president at a Trump property… there’s more, always.

Rather than a specific event, today I choose to complain in general, about how we got into this fine mess (aside from Russia). 

Regardless of the chaos in the world today, only half of the American population has an opinion with regards to politics, the other half is blissfully ignorant. (I too was happy once.) Of the opinionated half, party affiliations are deeply rooted. That doesn’t stop constant attempts by both sides to dig each other up for replanting. 

I don’t expect to change opinions of those who have them, and I’m not interested in an argument. I would like to plant a seed of thought in the minds of the politically disinterested. (Not unlike what a person forming cult would do—which I am not.)

Human beings are as selfish a species as any other. We protect our selves and our own above all else. It is a dog eat dog world out there, and we all want to feed our dogs first. (I don’t really know what that means.) I’m trying to say we can not do for others if we are struggling to do for ourselves. 

This is a common but subjective philosophy. It can be said that a paycheck to paycheck existence prevails at every income level. The more we make the more we spend. There is never enough money. 

This is why no one wants to pay taxes, because we need every penny we earn, but unless we are among the Donald Trump’s of the world, we do pay taxes.

For example, if the muffler falls off my car, it’s a big deal for me. I punch my steering wheel, curse my ancestors, and then pull out my credit card hoping it won’t be declined. I whine about how unfair life is…woe is me, and then I call Lyft in order to fulfill my Sisyphean lifestyle. (Uber is on the grab your wallet list.) 

Miserable people (whom I try not to emulate), focus their thoughts on those who have more money to throw at their problems. If Donald Trump’s muffler falls off, he probably fires his driver. Others who are more well off than I might buy a new car. But what about the other half? 

The compassionate sect (sect? maybe I do harbor a subconscious desire to start a cult) consider people without cars, people without bus fare, people without a job to go to. Focusing on those who have less makes it easier to realize my life isn’t that bad…(I sincerely apologize to my steering wheel and ancestors for the verbal and physical abuse they frequently suffer.)

Let’s change that muffler that fell off to an appendix. We all end up in an emergency room when our appendix falls off, and some of us will be devastated because the gold lame string bikini we just purchased for our Fijian holiday won’t cover the new scar, for others among us the medical bills and the unpaid time off work will be the final financial blow that will put us on the streets. 

We pay taxes to pay for things like roads and streetlights, but we also pay taxes because we are not dogs eating dogs. We help each other because—

THERE BUT FOR THE GRACE OF GOD GO I.


Open your eyes and take a look at the people who have less than you. You are not a better person because you have more money. You do not deserve to suffer less because you had a trust fund. Everyone deserves an education. Everyone deserves healthcare. With these thoughts in mind, you need to register to vote, and then vote, and find a way to be blissful without the ignorance.
Here is my final momism for the day- spend less than you make, smell the flowers, and vote ethically by voting out the venal GOP. 
_____________________________

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/blossom/”>Blossom</a&gt;

4 thoughts on “Days of Murky Politics

  1. nananoyz is correct. You hit it out of the park. How often since November 8th I have had similar thoughts. I came from a working class family which provided me and my brothers with good basic values. We didn’t have much but somehow always had enough. Maybe people voted for Trump because they can’t comprehend enough. Regardless as a human being with any values, religiously motivated or other, how could a person vote for him or worse continue to support him? If we have lost any sense of compassion or caring for each other, then we are lost. I hope not. I don’t believe we have. I guess we’ll know in 2018.

    Like

Leave a Reply

